Amex Platinum Card Review 2026: ₹66,000 a Year, and Why the Points Are Not the Point
The Amex Platinum Charge Card costs ₹66,000 — the most expensive card in this dataset. It earns 1.45%, the best rate in Amex's India range, but the case is entirely benefits. Full review and FAQs.
At ₹66,000 a year, the American Express Platinum Card is the most expensive card in this entire dataset.
It earns 1 point per ₹40 — 1.45% at Amex's published maximum, and the best rate in Amex's India range. It would still take ₹45.5 lakh of spending to recover the fee in points alone. The card is not bought for earning.
American Express Platinum Card Quick Overview
| **Card type** | Super-premium charge card |
|---|---|
| **Best for** | A high spender who will use the lounge collection and hotel benefits |
| **Joining / renewal fee** | ₹66,000 + GST, same on renewal |
| **Network** | American Express |
| **Base reward rate** | **1.45%** |
| **Reward currency** | Membership Rewards Points, valued at ₹0.58 each |
| **Welcome benefit** | A welcome gift worth up to ₹60,000, with a choice of Taj Hotels, Luxe Gift Card, or The Postcard Hotels & Resorts. Requires payment of the annual fee and net spends of ₹50,000 in the first 2 months of cardmembership; delivered within 6–8 weeks. |
| **Lounge access** | **Unlimited** complimentary domestic lounge access |
| **Forex markup** | 3.5% |
Reward Structure: How You Earn
What a Membership Rewards point is actually worth
American Express India publishes no per-point rate. Its Membership Rewards page names the redemption routes and gives no rupee figures at all.
The one place rupee values do appear is the Gold Collection, printed on the card pages themselves — and it shows the answer depends heavily on what you pick:
| 24,000 MR points buy | Worth | Per point |
|---|---|---|
| Taj voucher | ₹14,000 | **₹0.583** |
| Shoppers Stop voucher | ₹10,000 | ₹0.417 |
| Tata CLiQ or Tanishq voucher | ₹9,000 | ₹0.375 |
| Amazon, Flipkart or Reliance Digital | ₹8,000 | ₹0.333 |
Every percentage in this review uses ₹0.58, the published maximum. Be aware that the commonest choices — Amazon and Flipkart — pay 43% less, which turns a 1.16% card into a 0.67% one.
1 Membership Rewards Point for every ₹40 spent — 1.45% at the maximum, and 0.83% at the ₹0.333 Amazon rate. This is the only Amex India card earning on a ₹40 block rather than ₹50.
| Spend | Effective rate |
|---|---|
| Everything else | 1.45% |
| Fuel, rent, wallet loads, government, gaming | **0%** |
The benefits, and their conditions
| Benefit | Stated value | Condition |
|---|---|---|
| Welcome gift | up to ₹60,000 | Pay the annual fee and spend ₹50,000 net in the first 2 months; delivered in 6–8 weeks. Choice of Taj, Luxe Gift Card or The Postcard Hotels |
| Renewal vouchers | up to ₹35,000 | ₹20 lakh of spend in the membership year **and** payment of the renewal fee |
| Fine Hotels & Resorts | up to ₹44,300 | Per booking, across 1,000+ properties |
| Global Lounge Collection | — | 1,550+ lounges in 140+ countries |
On paper the welcome gift and renewal vouchers alone approach the fee. Read the conditions carefully: 'up to' governs all three figures, the welcome gift needs ₹50,000 of spend in two months, and the renewal vouchers need ₹20 lakh of annual spending — roughly ₹1.67 lakh a month, every month.
The lounge collection is the genuine differentiator
The American Express Global Lounge Collection covers 1,550+ airport lounges across 140+ countries — Centurion Lounges, Delta Sky Clubs when flying Delta, Priority Pass, Escape Lounges and domestic partner lounges in India. Amex publishes no per-quarter visit limit, and this dataset records it with its unlimited-access sentinel.
For someone flying internationally every month, this is the line item that justifies the fee. For someone who is not, very little else will.
What earns nothing
The exclusion list is wide and applies across almost the whole range:
- Fuel — Amex withdrew fuel earning entirely on 12 June 2025, and separately levies a 1% convenience fee on fuel transactions above ₹5,000. Fuel on an Amex costs money and returns nothing.
- Insurance
- Utilities (the Gold Charge Card is the sole exception)
- Cash transactions
- EMI conversion at point of sale, and since 1 February 2020, any EMI option selected on a merchant's website
These exclusions apply on the ₹66,000 card exactly as they apply on the ₹495 one. Fuel, insurance, utilities, cash and point-of-sale EMI earn nothing here either.
The part this review cannot price
Membership Rewards' reputation rests on transfers to airline and hotel programmes, not on vouchers. Amex names transfers as a redemption route and explains how to register a frequent flyer number to use them — but keeps the partner list and the transfer ratios behind account login, and publishes neither on its public India pages.
That means the figures here are computed from the voucher table and should be read as a floor on what the points can be worth, not a ceiling. A cardholder who transfers strategically may do considerably better. One who takes an Amazon voucher will do worse.
Fees and charges
American Express publishes these in two documents — a Key Fact Statement covering its credit cards and a separate MITC covering the Platinum and Gold charge cards.
| **Foreign currency** | **3.50%** currency conversion factor |
|---|---|
| Cash advance | 3.5% of the amount, minimum ₹250 |
| Duplicate statement | ₹100, for statements over 3 months old |
| Cheque / ECS / NACH return | ₹250 per instrument |
| Record of Charge retrieval | ₹100 |
| Railway booking (IRCTC) | 1.8%, minimum ₹10 |
The fuel convenience fee depends on whose forecourt you are on: nothing at HPCL below ₹5,000, 1% at HPCL above it, 1% at BPCL and IOCL, and 2.5% everywhere else — Shell, Adani, Essar and the rest. Remember fuel has earned no points since 12 June 2025, so at a private pump you pay 2.5% and earn nothing.
An unused card is closed after twelve months, after an intimation and 30 days to consent. A card not activated within 37 days of approval is cancelled outright.
Fraud liability is nil if reported within 3 working days, and capped at ₹1,000 beyond that. American Express also waives outstanding balances up to ₹50,000 on the death of the basic cardmember — a provision few issuers publish at all.
No interest — but points you can lose
There are no finance charges on a charge card. American Express states it plainly: the balance cannot be revolved, so no interest rate exists. The interest-free period runs up to 48 days.
Instead there is a delinquency fee: 5% of the unpaid balance, minimum ₹300, levied each month until the balance is cleared. It is calculated on the statement outstanding less fees, taxes and any credits received by the due date, so a partial payment reduces it. The account is reported overdue to credit bureaus after five days.
And the reward rule that matters most: Membership Rewards points are forfeited for any billing cycle in which payment is not received in full by the due date. Not reduced — forfeited, for the whole month. On a card that must be settled in full anyway, one late payment costs the entire month's earning on top of the delinquency fee. It appears in no marketing material.
Cash withdrawal is suspended in India and available only at international locations — US$750 every 14 days on Platinum, US$129 on Gold.
Milestone Benefits
| Spend | Benefit | Value |
|---|---|---|
| ₹20 lakh a year | Vouchers worth up to ₹35,000 as a renewal benefit. | ₹35,000 |
Category Restrictions: Where You Won't Earn
- Where you earn nothing: Earns nothing at all: Fuel, insurance, cash transactions and EMI conversion at point of sale earn NO Membership Rewards points. Amex withdrew fuel earning across the range effective 12 June 2025. Utilities are excluded too on every card here except the Gold Charge Card, which earns on them subject to its own cap.
- Point expiry: Amex India does not state a Membership Rewards expiry period in the uploaded sources. Points are generally understood to remain valid while the Card Account is open and in good standing, but that is NOT PUBLISHED here and should not be relied on. Redeemed points and vouchers are explicitly non-exchangeable, non-refundable and non-reversible.
Fees and Charges
| Charge | Amount |
|---|---|
| Joining fee | ₹66,000 + GST |
| Renewal fee | ₹66,000 + GST |
| Finance charges | Not applicable. American Express states plainly that on charge cards 'Cardmembers are not allowed to revolve the overdue balance by paying Finance Charges. Hence, there are no Finance Charges applicable.' interest_rate_pa is null because no rate exists, not because none was found. |
| Interest-free period | Up to 48 days. There are no interest charges on a charge card; the balance is settled in full each period. |
| Minimum amount due | Not applicable — the full amount shown on the statement is payable by the due date. American Express states the payment should not exceed the total amount due. |
| Cash advance fee | 3.5% of the cash advance amount, subject to a minimum of ₹250, levied every time cash is withdrawn. |
| Forex markup | 3.50% currency conversion factor assessment. Charges in a currency other than rupees are converted by American Express's overseas treasury system at an interbank rate selected from customary industry sources on the business day before processing, increased by the 3.5% markup. Non-US-dollar charges are converted through US dollars first. Charges made in Nepal and Bhutan are billed in rupees and carry no conversion factor. |
| Late payment | 5% of the unpaid balance, subject to a minimum of ₹300, levied in the next monthly statement and repeated until payment is received in full. Calculated as 5% × (last statement outstanding − fees and taxes − credits received by the due date), so a partial payment reduces the base. American Express reports a charge card account as overdue to credit information companies after five days. |
| Payment return | ₹250 per returned instrument, on cheque, ECS or NACH. |
| Fuel transactions | Charged as a convenience fee and varying by oil company: 0% on HPCL transactions below ₹5,000; 1% on HPCL transactions of ₹5,000 or more; 1% of the transaction value, minimum ₹10 plus taxes, at BPCL and IOCL; and 2.5%, minimum ₹10 plus taxes, at every other fuel company — Shell, Adani, Essar and the rest. Note separately that fuel has earned NO Membership Rewards points since 12 June 2025. |
| Add-on card | ₹10,000 per supplementary card, with up to 4 complimentary. |
| Reward redemption | No per-redemption fee is published in the uploaded sources. Redeemed Membership Rewards points and vouchers are explicitly non-exchangeable, non-refundable and non-reversible. |
| GST | 18% on all fees, interest and service charges. All figures quoted are exclusive of it. |
Is the American Express Platinum Card Worth It?
No fee waiver is published, and on a ₹66,000 card that absence is probably real rather than an omission. This is not a fee Amex expects to waive.
The arithmetic only works on heavy international travel. Lounge access across 1,550+ locations, Fine Hotels & Resorts benefits per booking, and a ₹35,000 renewal voucher at ₹20 lakh of spend. Strip out the travel and you are paying ₹66,000 for a 1.45% earn rate.
The base rate is genuinely the best in Amex's India range — 1 point per ₹40 against ₹50 everywhere else. It is still not a reason to hold this card.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
What is the annual fee on the Amex Platinum Card in India? ₹66,000 plus applicable taxes. No fee waiver is published in the material reviewed here.
What is the reward rate on the Amex Platinum Card? 1 Membership Rewards point for every ₹40 spent — 1.45% at Amex's published Gold Collection maximum of ₹0.58 a point, or 0.83% at the ₹0.333 Amazon voucher rate. It is the only Amex India card earning on a ₹40 block; the rest of the range uses ₹50.
What is an Amex Membership Rewards point worth in India? It depends entirely on the redemption. Amex publishes no headline rate. Its Gold Collection shows 24,000 points buying a ₹14,000 Taj voucher (₹0.583 a point) or an ₹8,000 Amazon or Flipkart voucher (₹0.333). Transfers to airline partners can be worth more, but Amex India does not publish those ratios publicly.
Do Amex cards earn rewards on fuel in India? No. American Express withdrew Membership Rewards earning on fuel across its India range effective 12 June 2025, and charges a 1% convenience fee on fuel transactions above ₹5,000.
Do Amex points expire? American Express India does not state an expiry period in the material reviewed here. Points are generally understood to remain valid while the account is open and in good standing, but that is not published and should not be relied on.

