CardJaankari
Kotak Mahindra Bank

Kotak UPI RuPay Credit Card Review 2026: Lifetime Free, 3 Points on UPI and Card Alike, Fees & FAQs

P
Priya MenonSenior Credit Card Analyst
23 September 20266 min read

The Kotak UPI RuPay is a virtual card — there is no plastic — designed to be linked to UPI apps and used for credit-card-on-UPI payments. It is lifetime free, with nil joining and nil annual fees.

Its one genuinely distinctive feature: it pays 3 Reward Points per ₹100 on UPI and regular card transactions alike, with no UPI penalty. Almost every other Kotak RuPay variant drops the rate on UPI, often sharply.

Quick Overview

**Card type**Virtual credit card for UPI
**Joining fee****Nil**
**Annual fee****Nil — lifetime free**
**Network**RuPay
**Reward rate****0.3% flat** — 3 Reward Points per ₹100, UPI and card alike
**Point value**₹0.10 catalogue / ₹0.07 cash
**Cash withdrawal**Not available
**Lounge**None
**Surcharge waivers****Neither fuel nor railway**

The no-UPI-penalty rate

3 Reward Points per ₹100 on both UPI and regular card transactions, with no distinction between them.

Compare that to the rest of Kotak's RuPay range:

CardCard rateUPI rate
**Kotak UPI RuPay****3 points / ₹100****3 points / ₹100**
Kotak Cashback+Up to 5%**0.5%**
Kotak Air+ Prime2–5 Air Miles / ₹100**Nothing under ₹2,000**
Kotak Cashback+ PrimeUp to 5%**0.5%**

On the Cashback+ cards, paying by QR code instead of entering the card turns a 5% transaction into a 0.5% one. Here there's no such trap — which is the whole point of the product.

Kotak defines "regular credit card transactions" as online, e-commerce and international transactions made virtually.

What a point is worth

₹0.10 on the Kotak Rewards catalogue, stated on the card page as "Every 1,000 Reward Points will be equivalent to ₹100". Minimum 1,000 points for redemption.

₹0.07 as cashback since 1 June 2025, down from ₹0.10, with a 2,000-point minimum.

So the rate is 0.3% on the catalogue, 0.21% in cash. Low — but on a card that costs nothing, low is still better than nothing.

Where you won't earn — and this list is wide

The card page's own footnote: "Reward Points will not be accrued for transaction categories such as Rent, Fuel, Railway, Wallet Loading, EMI, Education and Balance Transfer."

The 1 June 2025 revision added more:

CategoryReward Points earned
UtilityUp to **₹35,000** per statement cycle
**Rent, fuel, railway, wallet loading, EMI, education, balance transfer, online skill-based gaming, insurance, government****Nothing at any level**

Railway spend is excluded here but not on Kotak's other entry cards — a small but real difference if you book train travel on a card.

Fees and Charges

ChargeAmount
Joining fee**Nil**
Annual fee**Nil — lifetime free**
Add-on cardNot applicable
Finance charges3.75% per month (45% per annum)
Interest-free periodUp to 51 days
**Cash withdrawal****Not available on this card**
Forex markup3.50%
Late paymentNil up to ₹100, rising in slabs to ₹1,300 above ₹50,000
Over-limit₹500
Rent payment fee1% + GST on MCC 6513
Utility fee1% above ₹35,000 per statement cycle
Fuel fee1% above ₹25,000 per statement cycle
Wallet loading fee1% above ₹10,000 per statement cycle
**Card replacement****Nil** — there's no plastic to replace
**Fuel surcharge waiver****Not eligible**
**Railway surcharge waiver****Not eligible**

Cash withdrawal is switched off entirely. The MITC shows "NA (Facility not available on this credit card)" for the Kotak UPI RuPay Virtual Credit Card, alongside the two Cashback+ cards.

No surcharge waivers of either kind. Combined with fuel and railway earning nothing, and a 1% fuel fee above ₹25,000 a cycle, both categories should stay off this card.

A card with nothing else on it

No lounge access, domestic or international. No insurance. No milestone programme. No welcome benefit. No accelerated category. No add-on cards.

That isn't a criticism — it's a lifetime-free virtual card whose job is to put a credit line on UPI. Judged against that job it does it cleanly, and the absence of a fee means there's nothing to justify.

Worked Example

A cardholder putting ₹15,000 a month of eligible UPI and online spend through it:

AnnualPointsValue (catalogue)
Eligible spend at 3/₹100₹1,80,0005,400**₹540**
Fee——**₹0**

₹540 a year for a card that costs nothing, on spend you'd be making from a bank account anyway. That's the honest case for this product: it isn't a good earner, it's a free one.

Take cash redemptions instead and it's ₹378.

How it compares among Kotak's entry cards

UPI RuPayKotak 811Urbane GoldLeague Platinum
Joining / annual**Nil / Nil**₹500 / ₹500Nil / ₹199₹499 / ₹499
Rate0.3% flat0.5% online, 0.25% offline0.3% flat0.27–0.53%
Point value₹0.10**₹0.25**₹0.10₹0.10
UPI rate**Same as card**Not specifiedNot specifiedNot specified
MilestoneNone3 PVR tickets4 PVR ticketsNone
Railway earns**No**YesYesYes
Cash withdrawal**No**YesYesYes

The 811 earns more per rupee online and has a better point value; the Urbane Gold has a milestone. This one has no fee and no UPI penalty.

There's a reasonable case for holding this alongside another Kotak card: use the 811 or Cashback+ for card transactions, and this one for UPI, where the others penalise you.

Who Should Get the Kotak UPI RuPay Credit Card

Good fit if:

  • You want a credit line on UPI without a fee
  • You already hold a Kotak card that penalises UPI — this one fills that gap at no cost
  • You want to go wallet-free and pay from a credit line rather than a bank balance
  • You're comfortable with a virtual card and no physical plastic

Look elsewhere if:

  • You want a meaningful earn rate — 0.3% catalogue, 0.21% cash
  • You need cash withdrawal
  • Your spend is concentrated in rent, fuel, railway, wallet loads, education or insurance — all excluded
  • You want lounge access, insurance or a milestone — this card has none of them

Frequently Asked Questions

Is this a physical card? No. It's a virtual credit card, designed to be linked to UPI apps for instant payments.

What's the fee? Nil joining and nil annual — lifetime free.

Do UPI transactions earn less than card transactions? No, and that's the point of the card. Both earn 3 Reward Points per ₹100. Most other Kotak RuPay variants cut the rate sharply on UPI.

What's a point worth? ₹0.10 on the Kotak Rewards catalogue, with a 1,000-point minimum. ₹0.07 as cashback since 1 June 2025, with a 2,000-point minimum.

Which categories earn nothing? Rent, fuel, railway, wallet loading, EMI, education, balance transfer, online skill-based gaming, insurance and government. Utility earns up to ₹35,000 per statement cycle.

Can I withdraw cash? No. The cash advance facility is not available on this card.

Is there a fuel surcharge waiver? No, and no railway surcharge waiver either. Both categories earn nothing as well.

Is there lounge access or insurance? No to both. This is a lifetime-free virtual card with no benefits beyond the earn rate.

Can I get add-on cards? No — the MITC shows NA for add-on card issuance on this product.

What counts as a "regular" transaction? Kotak defines it as online, e-commerce and international transactions made virtually.

Fees, rates and benefits verified against the Kotak UPI RuPay Credit Card product page, Kotak's MCC schedule dated 1 May 2025 and the Kotak credit-card MITC, as at 23 September 2026.

Cards Mentioned in This Article

Kotak UPI RuPay Credit Card

Kotak Mahindra Bank

Kotak UPI RuPay Credit Card

0.3% base reward

Lifetime Free