PVR Kotak Platinum Credit Card Review 2026: 2 Free Movie Tickets at ₹10,000 a Month, Fees & FAQs
This card is closed to new applicants. Kotak's own page reads "Kotak PVR Platinum Credit Card (Discontinued)" and carries no apply link. Existing cardholders keep earning and claiming — the fees schedule, value chart and coupon-claim instructions are all still published, and the MITC still runs the programme. This review is for people who already hold the card, or who are weighing it against the PVR INOX Kotak Credit Card that replaced it.
PVR Kotak Platinum Quick Overview
| **Status** | Discontinued — closed to new applicants, existing cards still earning |
|---|---|
| **Joining fee** | Nil |
| **Annual fee** | ₹999 + GST. **No waiver at any spend level** |
| **Add-on card** | ₹299 |
| **Network** | Visa |
| **Reward rate** | **None** — no points, no cashback |
| **Main benefit** | **2 movie tickets** (M Coupons worth ₹400 each) at ₹10,000 of monthly spend |
| **Discounts** | 20% off food and beverages, 5% off movie tickets, at PVR INOX |
| **Interest** | 3.75% per month (45.00% per annum) |
The Ticket Milestone: a single flat tier
Two PVR INOX movie tickets every month when you bill ₹10,000 or more in a monthly billing cycle. That is the whole programme — one threshold, no second tier, no repeating slabs.
Each ticket is an M Coupon capped at ₹400, a third more than the ₹300 coupons on the newer PVR INOX Kotak card.
The return decays fast above ₹10,000
Because there is only one tier and it stops there, the effective rate falls off a cliff as spend rises:
| Monthly spend | Tickets | Value | Effective rate |
|---|---|---|---|
| ₹10,000 | 2 | ₹800 | **8%** |
| ₹15,000 | 2 | ₹800 | 5.3% |
| ₹20,000 | 2 | ₹800 | 4% |
| ₹40,000 | 2 | ₹800 | 2% |
This card rewards hitting ₹10,000 exactly, not spending more. If your card spend is well above that, everything past ₹10,000 is earning nothing — and this is the single strongest argument for moving to the PVR INOX Kotak card, whose entitlement repeats on every ₹10,000 slab with no published ceiling.
Kotak's own value chart uses the 8% figure: ₹10,000 a month, ₹1,20,000 a year, 24 tickets at ₹400 each, ₹9,600 of value, ₹8,601 net of the ₹999 fee.
Two things that pull 8% down
The coupon is consumed in full, whatever the ticket costs. MITC clause 9.13 gives the example: two ₹250 tickets need two coupons, and the unused ₹150 on each is forfeited. At a ₹400 cap that slice is larger than on the ₹300 PVR INOX card, because weekday tickets sit well below ₹400. The 8% assumes every coupon is used against a ticket costing ₹400 or more.
Claiming is on you, and there are two clocks. Nothing is credited automatically. Claim each coupon from the Kotak Mobile Banking app or net banking, then find it in the "My PVR" section with a code, issue date and validity date.
- Claim window: 2 monthly billing cycles from the cycle that earned it
- Validity: 60 days from the date of claim
Miss either and the ticket is gone, even though you already earned it in spend.
Using a coupon
On the PVR app or pvrcinemas.com only, under "PVR Exclusives" (app) or "Avail Offers" (website). Enter the last 5 digits of your registered mobile number and the last 4 of your card, then the coupon code.
Coupons work on any format, any theatre and any category (MITC clause 9.11), except franchise cinemas such as PVR Mahagun and PVR Opulent, which clause 9.12 excludes. Booking fees, convenience fees and taxes are always yours.
A clawback to know about: if a coupon has already been used and the transaction that earned it is later cancelled, Kotak debits ₹250 to your card account as the cost of the ticket.
The Discounts — often the better benefit
20% instant discount on food and beverages at PVR INOX, and 5% on movie tickets, at any theatre or through the bank-offers tile on the PVR INOX app or website.
Neither carries a stated cap or usage limit in any uploaded source. For a regular cinemagoer, the F&B discount is very likely worth more than the ticket milestone — cinema food routinely matches the ticket price, and unlike the M Coupon the discount is uncapped, never expires, needs no claim step and applies on every single visit.
Where spend doesn't count
Effective 1 June 2025, five categories are stripped out before the ticket milestone is calculated:
- Utility
- Education
- Wallet load
- Rent
- Online skill-based gaming
Plus fees and charges, EMI transactions, balance transfers, cash advances and cancelled transactions. Only settled transactions count.
That is two categories wider than the PVR INOX Kotak card, which excludes only rent, wallet loads and online gaming. On a card where the threshold is only ₹10,000, having utility and education spend stripped out can be the difference between clearing it and missing it in a given month.
Fees and Charges
| Charge | Amount |
|---|---|
| Joining fee | Nil |
| Annual fee | ₹999 + GST — no waiver at any spend level |
| Add-on card | ₹299 |
| Finance charges | 3.75% per month (45.00% per annum) |
| Interest-free period | Up to 51 days |
| Minimum amount due | 1% of purchases and cash advances + 100% of EMI, interest, fees and tax, minimum ₹100 |
| Cash advance fee | 2.5% of the amount, minimum ₹500 |
| Forex markup | 3.50% |
| Dynamic currency conversion | 3.50% |
| Late payment | Nil up to ₹100, rising in slabs to ₹1,300 above ₹50,000 |
| Over-limit | ₹500 |
| Rent payment fee | 1% + GST on every MCC 6513 transaction |
| Utility fee | 1% above ₹35,000 per statement cycle |
| Fuel fee | 1% above ₹25,000 per statement cycle |
| Wallet loading fee | 1% above ₹10,000 per statement cycle |
| Online gaming fee | 1% above ₹10,000 per statement cycle |
| Card replacement | ₹100 |
| GST | 18% on all fees, interest and charges |
No fuel surcharge waiver and no railway surcharge waiver — the MITC lists PVR Platinum among the products not eligible for either. Fuel spend above ₹25,000 per cycle also attracts a 1% fee, though fuel does count towards the ticket milestone.
The ₹999 fee is the card's weakest point. It is twice the PVR Gold's and twice the PVR INOX Kotak card's, for the same 24 tickets a year.
PVR Kotak Platinum vs PVR Kotak Gold vs PVR INOX Kotak
| PVR Platinum | PVR Gold | PVR INOX Kotak | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Status | Discontinued | Discontinued | **Current** |
| Annual fee | **₹999** | ₹499 | ₹499 |
| Coupon value | ₹400 | ₹400 | ₹300 |
| Tickets | 2 at ₹10k | 1 at ₹10k, 2 at ₹15k | 1 per ₹10k, **repeating** |
| Ceiling | 2 a month | 2 a month | None published |
| Excluded from milestone | 5 categories | 5 categories | **3 categories** |
| In-cinema lounge | Not stated | Not stated | **Yes** |
| Kotak's own value chart | ₹8,601 net | ₹9,101 net | — |
Against the Gold: the Platinum reaches two tickets at ₹10,000 where the Gold needs ₹15,000, but charges ₹500 more a year for it. If you spend ₹10,000–₹15,000 a month the Platinum is genuinely better. Above ₹15,000 both cards are at their ceiling and the Gold delivers the same 24 tickets for half the fee — Kotak's own value charts say exactly that, ₹9,101 net against ₹8,601.
Against the PVR INOX Kotak card: the INOX card costs ₹499, its coupons are worth ₹300 rather than ₹400, but its entitlement keeps scaling — ₹30,000 of monthly spend earns three tickets where the Platinum still earns two, ₹50,000 earns five. It also excludes only three categories from the milestone rather than five, and adds free in-cinema lounge entry. For anyone spending above about ₹15,000 a month, the newer card pays more for half the fee.
Who This Card Still Suits
Keep it if:
- Your monthly card spend sits close to ₹10,000 — that is where the 8% lives
- You go to PVR INOX at least twice a month and will use both coupons before they expire
- You buy food at the cinema — the uncapped 20% is the steadiest benefit on the card
- You will remember to claim in the Kotak app within two billing cycles
Consider switching if:
- You spend well above ₹10,000 a month — the ceiling means everything above it earns nothing
- Utility, education, rent or wallet spend is a big share of your card use — none of it counts
- The ₹999 fee grates: the Gold and the PVR INOX Kotak card both deliver comparable value at ₹499
- You rarely go to the cinema — this is a 0% card with a ₹999 fee
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I still apply for this card? No. Kotak's page is headed "(Discontinued)" and carries no apply link. The PVR INOX Kotak Credit Card is the current product.
Do my existing benefits still work? Yes. The fees schedule, value chart and coupon-claim instructions are still published, and the MITC still runs the programme.
What is the fee? Nil joining, ₹999 + GST annual from the second year, with no waiver at any spend level. Add-on cards are ₹299.
How many tickets do I get? Two, every month you bill ₹10,000 or more in a monthly billing cycle. There is no second tier — spending more does not earn more.
How much is each ticket worth? Each M Coupon is capped at ₹400. If the ticket costs more, you pay the difference; if it costs less, the balance is forfeited.
Do the coupons expire? Twice over. Claim within 2 monthly billing cycles of the cycle that earned it, and use within 60 days of claiming.
Which spends don't count towards the milestone? Utility, education, wallet loads, rent and online skill-based gaming — plus fees, EMI transactions, balance transfers, cash advances and cancelled transactions.
Does the card earn reward points or cashback? No. There is no earn rate of any kind. The monthly ticket milestone and the two PVR INOX discounts are the whole proposition.
Is there a fuel surcharge waiver? No, and no railway surcharge waiver either.
Should I move to the PVR INOX Kotak card? If you spend more than about ₹15,000 a month, almost certainly — it costs half as much and its ticket entitlement keeps scaling. If you spend close to ₹10,000 and value the ₹400 coupon cap, the Platinum is still competitive.
Fees, benefits and terms verified against the PVR Kotak Platinum Credit Card product page, its fees-and-charges page, its value chart, the coupon-claim and how-to-use pages, section B ("PVR INOX Kotak Program", clauses 7 to 9) of the Kotak credit-card MITC and Kotak's MCC schedule dated 1 June 2025, as at 23 September 2026. The card is closed to new applicants.

