PVR Kotak Gold Credit Card Review 2026: 2 Free Movie Tickets a Month, 20% Off F&B, Fees & FAQs
This card is closed to new applicants. Kotak's own page is headed "PVR Kotak Gold Credit Card (Discontinued)" and carries no apply link. Existing cardholders continue to earn and claim — the fees schedule, the value chart and the coupon-claim instructions are all still published, and the MITC still runs the programme. This review is written for people who already hold the card, or who are comparing it against the PVR INOX Kotak Credit Card that replaced it.
PVR Kotak Gold Quick Overview
| **Status** | Discontinued — closed to new applicants, existing cards still earning |
|---|---|
| **Joining fee** | Nil |
| **Annual fee** | ₹499 + GST. **No waiver at any spend level** |
| **Add-on card** | ₹299 |
| **Network** | Visa |
| **Reward rate** | **None** — no points, no cashback |
| **Main benefit** | 1 movie ticket (M Coupon worth **₹400**) at ₹10,000 of monthly spend; 2 tickets at ₹15,000 |
| **Discounts** | 20% off food and beverages, 5% off movie tickets, at PVR INOX |
| **Interest** | 3.75% per month (45.00% per annum) |
The Ticket Milestone: How It Works
Two fixed tiers, measured on a monthly billing cycle:
| Monthly billed spend | Tickets |
|---|---|
| Under ₹10,000 | None |
| ₹10,000 and above | **1** |
| ₹15,000 and above | **2** |
Each ticket is an M Coupon capped at ₹400 — a third more than the ₹300 coupons on the newer PVR INOX Kotak card.
The important thing to understand is that these tiers are cumulative, not additive. Kotak's MITC phrases the second tier as "2 (including 1 ticket eligible on reaching 1st milestone)". Reaching ₹15,000 gets you two tickets in total, not two more.
And the tiers stop there. Nothing further is earned above ₹15,000 in a cycle. Spend ₹50,000 in a month and you get two tickets, the same as ₹15,000. That is the single biggest difference from the PVR INOX Kotak card, whose entitlement repeats on every ₹10,000 slab with no published ceiling.
What it's actually worth
Kotak's value chart assumes ₹15,000 of monthly spend: 24 tickets a year at ₹400 each, ₹9,600 of value, ₹9,101 net of the ₹499 fee — which it calls 5% on ₹1,80,000 of annual spend.
Two things pull that down:
The slab effect. ₹14,999 of monthly spend earns one ticket, the same as ₹10,001. Anything above ₹15,000 earns nothing at all.
The coupon is consumed in full, whatever the ticket costs. MITC clause 9.13 gives the example: two ₹250 tickets need two coupons, and the unused ₹150 on each is forfeited. At a ₹400 cap the forfeited slice is larger than on the ₹300 PVR INOX card, because ordinary weekday tickets sit well below ₹400. The 5% figure assumes every coupon is used against a ticket costing ₹400 or more.
Claiming is on you, and there are two clocks
Nothing is credited automatically. Claim each coupon from the Kotak Mobile Banking app or net banking, after which it sits in the "My PVR" section with a code, issue date and validity date.
- Claim window: 2 monthly billing cycles from the cycle that earned it
- Validity: 60 days from the date of claim
A cardholder who does not open the Kotak app roughly monthly will forfeit coupons already earned in spend. This is the most common way value leaks on these cards.
Using a coupon
On the PVR app or pvrcinemas.com only, under "PVR Exclusives" (app) or "Avail Offers" (website). Enter the last 5 digits of your registered mobile number and the last 4 of your card, then the coupon code.
Coupons work on any format, any theatre and any category (MITC clause 9.11) — except franchise cinemas such as PVR Mahagun and PVR Opulent, which clause 9.12 excludes. Booking fees, convenience fees and taxes are always yours.
One clawback to know about: if a coupon has already been used and the transaction that earned it is later cancelled, Kotak debits ₹250 to your card account as the cost of the ticket.
The Discounts — probably the better benefit
20% instant discount on food and beverages at PVR INOX, and 5% on movie tickets, at any theatre or through the bank-offers tile on the PVR INOX app or website.
Neither has a stated cap or usage limit in any uploaded source. For a regular cinemagoer the F&B discount is very likely worth more than the ticket milestone: cinema food routinely matches the ticket price, and unlike the M Coupon the discount is uncapped, has no expiry, no claim step and no monthly threshold, and applies on every visit.
Where spend doesn't count
Effective 1 June 2025, five categories are stripped out before the ticket milestone is calculated:
- Utility
- Education
- Wallet load
- Rent
- Online skill-based gaming
Plus the usual mechanical exclusions — fees and charges, EMI transactions, balance transfers, cash advances and cancelled transactions. Only settled transactions count.
This is two categories wider than the PVR INOX Kotak card, which excludes only rent, wallet loads and online gaming. If you pay utility bills or school fees on a card and want them to build ticket progress, the newer card is the one that does it.
Fees and Charges
| Charge | Amount |
|---|---|
| Joining fee | Nil |
| Annual fee | ₹499 + GST — no waiver at any spend level |
| Add-on card | ₹299 |
| Finance charges | 3.75% per month (45.00% per annum) |
| Interest-free period | Up to 51 days |
| Minimum amount due | 1% of purchases and cash advances + 100% of EMI, interest, fees and tax, minimum ₹100 |
| Cash advance fee | 2.5% of the amount, minimum ₹500 |
| Forex markup | 3.50% |
| Dynamic currency conversion | 3.50% |
| Late payment | Nil up to ₹100, rising in slabs to ₹1,300 above ₹50,000 |
| Over-limit | ₹500 |
| Rent payment fee | 1% + GST on every MCC 6513 transaction |
| Utility fee | 1% above ₹35,000 per statement cycle |
| Fuel fee | 1% above ₹25,000 per statement cycle |
| Wallet loading fee | 1% above ₹10,000 per statement cycle |
| Online gaming fee | 1% above ₹10,000 per statement cycle |
| Card replacement | ₹100 |
| GST | 18% on all fees, interest and charges |
No fuel surcharge waiver and no railway surcharge waiver — the MITC lists PVR Gold among the products not eligible for either. Fuel spend above ₹25,000 per cycle also attracts a 1% fee, though fuel does still count towards the ticket milestone.
Note the awkward pairing on utilities: they attract a 1% fee above ₹35,000 a cycle and do not build milestone progress. Keep utility bills off this card.
PVR Kotak Gold vs PVR Kotak Platinum vs PVR INOX Kotak
| PVR Gold | PVR Platinum | PVR INOX Kotak | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Status | Discontinued | Discontinued | **Current** |
| Annual fee | ₹499 | ₹999 | ₹499 |
| Coupon value | ₹400 | ₹400 | ₹300 |
| Tickets | 1 at ₹10k, 2 at ₹15k | 2 at ₹10k | 1 per ₹10k, **repeating** |
| Ceiling | 2 a month | 2 a month | None published |
| Excluded from milestone | 5 categories | 5 categories | **3 categories** |
| F&B / ticket discount | 20% / 5% | 20% / 5% | 20% / 5% |
| In-cinema lounge | Not stated | Not stated | **Yes** |
If you hold the Gold and spend ₹10,000–₹15,000 a month, it is doing its job. If you spend well above ₹15,000, the PVR INOX Kotak card would pay you considerably more — its entitlement keeps scaling, where the Gold stops at two tickets. If you spend ₹10,000–₹15,000 and pay utility or education bills on the card, the INOX card is better again, because those count towards its milestone.
Who This Card Still Suits
Keep it if:
- You spend ₹15,000 or so a month and reliably clear the second tier
- You go to PVR INOX often enough to use two coupons a month before they expire
- You buy food at the cinema — the uncapped 20% is the steadiest benefit on the card
- You will remember to claim coupons in the Kotak app within two billing cycles
Consider switching if:
- Your monthly spend is well above ₹15,000 — you are leaving tickets on the table
- Utility, education, rent or wallet spend is a big share of your card use — none of it builds progress
- You rarely go to the cinema — ₹499 a year for a card earning 0% is a bad deal
- You want fuel or railway surcharge waivers, lounge access or any earn rate at all
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I still apply for this card? No. Kotak's page is headed "(Discontinued)" and carries no apply link. The PVR INOX Kotak Credit Card is the current product.
Do my existing benefits still work? Yes. The fees schedule, value chart and coupon-claim instructions are still published, and the MITC still runs the programme.
What is the fee? Nil joining, ₹499 + GST annual from the second year, with no waiver at any spend level. Add-on cards are ₹299.
How many tickets do I get? One if you bill ₹10,000 or more in a monthly billing cycle, two if you bill ₹15,000 or more. Nothing further above ₹15,000.
How much is each ticket worth? Each M Coupon is capped at ₹400. If the ticket costs more, you pay the difference; if it costs less, the balance is forfeited.
Do the coupons expire? Twice over. Claim within 2 monthly billing cycles of the cycle that earned it, and use within 60 days of claiming.
Which spends don't count towards the milestone? Utility, education, wallet loads, rent and online skill-based gaming — plus fees, EMI transactions, balance transfers, cash advances and cancelled transactions.
Does the card earn reward points or cashback? No. There is no earn rate of any kind. The monthly ticket milestone and the two PVR INOX discounts are the whole proposition.
Is there a fuel surcharge waiver? No, and no railway surcharge waiver either.
What happens if I return something I bought with the card? If the coupon earned on that transaction has already been used, Kotak debits ₹250 to your account.
Fees, benefits and terms verified against the PVR Kotak Gold Credit Card product page, its fees-and-charges page, its value chart, the coupon-claim and how-to-use pages, section B ("PVR INOX Kotak Program", clauses 7 to 9) of the Kotak credit-card MITC and Kotak's MCC schedule dated 1 June 2025, as at 23 September 2026. The card is closed to new applicants.

