LIC IDBI Eclat Select Review 2026: IDBI's Best Earn Rate at 1%, and Lifetime Free
The LIC IDBI Eclat Select earns 4 Delight Points per ₹100 — 1%, the highest in IDBI's range — and is lifetime free. But the lounge benefit is unquantified and interest is 3.40%. Full review.
The LIC IDBI Eclat Select earns 4 Delight Points per ₹100 — 1% at IDBI's published rate. That is the highest earn rate the bank offers, and the card is lifetime free.
Two things temper it: the lounge benefit is not quantified, and the interest rate is the range's highest.
LIC IDBI Eclat Select Credit Card Quick Overview
| **Card type** | Mid-tier LIC co-brand |
|---|---|
| **Best for** | An LIC customer who clears the balance each month |
| **Joining / renewal fee** | Nil, same on renewal |
| **Network** | RuPay |
| **Base reward rate** | **1.0%** |
| **Reward currency** | Delight Points, valued at ₹0.25 each |
| **Lounge access** | None published |
| **Forex markup** | 3.5% |
Reward Structure: How You Earn
IDBI's reward currency is the Delight Point, and one is worth ₹0.25. The bank publishes that figure once, in the Imperium card's FAQ, in square brackets beside the earn rate: '2 Delight Point on every purchase transaction of Rs. 150/- [1 Point = Rs 0.25]'.
Redemption is free. IDBI's MITC states the reward redemption fee is nil for all card variants — so the headline rate is the rate you actually get. That is not true of most of this dataset: AU charges ₹99 + GST per redemption, IDFC ₹99, and BOBCARD sets a ₹1,000 minimum.
4 Delight Points per ₹100 spent — 1.0%, the best rate in IDBI's range.
| Spend | Effective rate |
|---|---|
| Everything else | 1.0% |
| Fuel, rent, wallet loads, government, gaming | **0%** |
The lounge benefit exists but its size is unknown
IDBI says access is 'being provided by RuPay and is subject to change as per RuPay's discretion from time to time without any prior notice' — and gives no visit count.
This review records the per-quarter entitlement as 0, meaning not published rather than none. The benefit is real; its size is not IDBI's to guarantee and not stated anywhere in the reviewed material.
The interest rate is the range's highest
3.40% a month — 40.80% a year — shared with Winnings and LIC Lumine. Against Royale Signature's 2.50%, a ₹50,000 revolving balance costs about ₹450 a month here against ₹250 there.
If you revolve, the 1% earn rate does not come close to covering the difference.
Nine categories earn nothing at all
IDBI publishes the merchant category codes, and the list is harsher than most:
| MCC | Category |
|---|---|
| 4112 | **Passenger railways** |
| 6381, 5960 | Insurance premiums and direct-marketing insurance |
| 9311 | Tax payments |
| 9222 | Fines |
| 6211 | Securities brokers and dealers |
| 5542, 5172, 5983 | Fuel — dispensers, petroleum products, fuel dealers |
Railways earning nothing is worth singling out. IRCTC and passenger rail are a large slice of Indian card spending, and IDBI excludes them outright rather than paying a floor rate. Insurance and tax go the same way — excluded entirely, not capped.
Refunds claw back points. Where a transaction is later reversed or refunded, IDBI debits the corresponding points from your balance.
The interest rate depends on which card you hold
IDBI sets the revolving rate per variant, and the spread is wide enough to matter:
| Card | Monthly | Annual |
|---|---|---|
| Royale Signature | **2.50%** | 30.00% |
| Aspire, Euphoria World, Imperium | 2.90% | 34.80% |
| Winnings, LIC Eclat, LIC Lumine | **3.40%** | 40.80% |
A cardholder who revolves a balance pays a third more on Winnings than on Royale Signature for exactly the same debt.
Fees and charges
Joining fee is nil on all seven cards. So are add-on card fees, and points earned on an add-on are clubbed with the primary card's balance.
Late payment is graduated: nil at ₹500 or below, ₹400 up to ₹5,000, ₹500 up to ₹10,000, ₹750 up to ₹20,000, and ₹950 above that.
Cash advance costs 2.5% or ₹500, whichever is higher, with interest from the transaction date. Over-limit is 2.5%. Foreign currency markup is 3.5% across the range.
The interest-free period is 18 to 48 days, and only if the previous balance was cleared in full.
Balance transfers are not offered — IDBI states plainly that the facility is not currently provided.
One thing to know before closing an IDBI card: Delight Points cannot be redeemed after card closure, irrespective of the balance held. Redeem before you close, not after.
Category Restrictions: Where You Won't Earn
- Where you earn nothing: Earns nothing at all. NINE MERCHANT CATEGORIES EARN NO DELIGHT POINTS, and IDBI publishes the MCCs: 6211 securities brokers and dealers, 6381 insurance premiums, 5960 direct-marketing insurance, 9222 fines, 9311 tax payments, 4112 PASSENGER RAILWAYS, and the three fuel codes 5542 automated fuel dispensers, 5172 petroleum products and 5983 fuel dealers.
RAILWAY BOOKINGS EARNING NOTHING IS WORTH SINGLING OUT — IRCTC and passenger rail are a large category of Indian card spend, and IDBI excludes them outright rather than paying a floor rate. Insurance and tax payments are likewise excluded entirely rather than capped. REVERSALS CLAW BACK POINTS: where a transaction is later reversed or refunded, IDBI debits the corresponding points from the balance.
- Point expiry: IDBI does not state a Delight Points validity period in the readable portion of its MITC. What it does state is that points cannot be redeemed after card closure, irrespective of the balance — so the practical expiry risk is closing the account, not the passage of time.
Fees and Charges
| Charge | Amount |
|---|---|
| Joining fee | Nil |
| Renewal fee | Nil |
| Finance charges | Set per card variant: Royale Signature 2.50% a month (30.00% a year); Aspire, Euphoria World and Imperium Platinum 2.90% (34.80%); Winnings, LIC Eclat and LIC Lumine 3.40% (40.80%). |
| Interest-free period | 18 to 48 days, subject to the transaction date within the billing cycle and to the previous balance having been cleared in full. Not available on cash advances, where a finance charge applies from the transaction date. |
| Minimum amount due | 5% of the statement balance including cash advance, plus 100% of fees and charges, plus 100% of interest and finance charges. IDBI works the arithmetic in the MITC. |
| Cash advance fee | 2.5% of the transaction amount or ₹500, whichever is higher. |
| Cash advance interest | Charged at the card's revolving rate from the transaction date, with no interest-free period. |
| Forex markup | 3.5% cross-currency markup on all international transactions. |
| Late payment | Graduated by statement balance: nil at ₹500 or below; ₹400 above ₹500 up to ₹5,000; ₹500 above ₹5,000 up to ₹10,000; ₹750 above ₹10,000 up to ₹20,000; and ₹950 above ₹20,000. |
| Overlimit | 2.5% of the over-limit amount. |
| Fuel transactions | No fuel transaction fee is published. Note separately that fuel earns NO Delight Points — MCCs 5542, 5172 and 5983 are on IDBI's exclusion list — while a fuel surcharge waiver does apply, capped per variant. |
| Add-on card | Nil on every variant. IDBI's MITC records no joining or annual fee for add-on cards across the range, and Delight Points earned on an add-on card are clubbed with the primary card's balance. |
| Reward redemption | Nil, for all card variants — IDBI charges nothing to redeem Delight Points. |
| EMI processing | EMI conversion is offered on tenures of 3, 6, 9, 12, 18, 24, 30 and 36 months. The processing fee is set out in IDBI's separate EMI Facility Terms and Conditions. |
| GST | 18% on all fees, interest and charges. |
Is the LIC IDBI Eclat Select Credit Card Worth It?
Take Eclat if you clear your balance every month and hold LIC policies. At 1% and zero cost it is IDBI's strongest earner.
Do not take it if you revolve. Royale Signature is also free, earns 0.75%, and charges a third less interest.
Note that insurance premiums earn nothing — MCCs 6381 and 5960 are on IDBI's exclusion list. On a card co-branded with an insurer, that is worth knowing before you route premium payments through it.
The fuel waiver is ₹500 a month on transactions between ₹400 and ₹5,000.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
What is the earn rate on the LIC IDBI Eclat Select card? 4 Delight Points per ₹100 spent, which is 1% at IDBI's published ₹0.25 a point — the highest rate in IDBI's range, on a lifetime-free card.
Does the LIC IDBI Eclat card earn points on LIC premium payments? No. IDBI excludes insurance premiums (MCC 6381) and direct-marketing insurance (5960) from Delight Points entirely, which applies on this card as on the rest of the range.
What is an IDBI Delight Point worth? ₹0.25. IDBI publishes the figure in its Imperium Credit Card FAQ. Redemption is free — the MITC states the reward redemption fee is nil for all card variants.
What does not earn Delight Points on IDBI cards? Nine merchant categories: passenger railways (MCC 4112), insurance premiums (6381 and 5960), tax payments (9311), fines (9222), securities brokers (6211) and the three fuel codes (5542, 5172, 5983). Refunded transactions also have their points debited back.
Do IDBI Delight Points expire? IDBI states no validity period in the readable portion of its MITC. It does state that points cannot be redeemed after card closure regardless of the balance — so the real risk is closing the account with points unredeemed.

