CardJaankari
American Express

Amex SmartEarn Credit Card Review 2026: 10X Rewards, Capped at ₹7,500 of Spending a Month

Amex SmartEarn costs ₹495 and pays 10X at Zomato, Uber, Flipkart and BookMyShow, 5X at Amazon. Three separate monthly pools cap it at 1,250 points. How to fill all three, plus FAQs.

P
Priya MenonSenior Credit Card Analyst
26 September 202610 min read

American Express SmartEarn costs ₹495 and advertises 10X Membership Rewards at partner merchants — Zomato, Ajio, Nykaa, BookMyShow, Uber, Flipkart, EaseMyTrip — and 5X at Amazon.

10X is 11.6% at Amex's published maximum, which would be extraordinary. The caps are what make it sane, and Amex is unusually clear about them.

American Express SmartEarn Credit Card Quick Overview

**Card type**Entry co-brand rewards card
**Best for**Someone who spreads ₹7,500 a month across all three merchant pools
**Joining / renewal fee**₹495 + GST, same on renewal — renewal waived at ₹40,000 of annual spend
**Network**American Express
**Base reward rate****1.16%**
**Top reward rate****11.6%** — dining
**Reward currency**Membership Rewards Points, valued at ₹0.58 each
**Welcome benefit**A welcome gift on payment of the annual fee and spending ₹10,000 within 90 days of cardmembership.
**Lounge access**None published
**Forex markup**3.5%

Reward Structure: How You Earn

What a Membership Rewards point is actually worth

American Express India publishes no per-point rate. Its Membership Rewards page names the redemption routes and gives no rupee figures at all.

The one place rupee values do appear is the Gold Collection, printed on the card pages themselves — and it shows the answer depends heavily on what you pick:

24,000 MR points buyWorthPer point
Taj voucher₹14,000**₹0.583**
Shoppers Stop voucher₹10,000₹0.417
Tata CLiQ or Tanishq voucher₹9,000₹0.375
Amazon, Flipkart or Reliance Digital₹8,000₹0.333

Every percentage in this review uses ₹0.58, the published maximum. Be aware that the commonest choices — Amazon and Flipkart — pay 43% less, which turns a 1.16% card into a 0.67% one.

10X — 10 Membership Rewards Points per ₹50 — at partner merchants. 11.6% at the maximum.

5X — 5 points per ₹50 — at Amazon. 5.8% at the maximum.

1 point per ₹50 on everything else — 1.16%.

SpendEffective rate
dining (capped at 500 points a month)**11.6%**
entertainment (capped at 500 points a month)**11.6%**
shopping (capped at 250 points a month)**5.8%**
Everything else1.16%
Fuel, rent, wallet loads, government, gaming**0%**

The caps that actually bind

Headline rates mean little until you know where they stop. These are the limits on this card:

CapLimit
Tenx500 points per calendar month
Amazon250 points per calendar month

Three pools, and they are separate

PoolMerchantsMonthly capBinds at
10X pool AEaseMyTrip and Zomato, jointly500 points₹2,500
10X pool BFlipkart, Uber, BookMyShow and others, jointly500 points₹2,500
5X poolAmazon250 points₹2,500

Total: 1,250 points a month for ₹7,500 of spending — Amex's own worked example says exactly this. Beyond ₹2,500 in any pool, that pool drops to the 1-point-per-₹50 base rate.

The three pools are the thing to understand. Putting ₹7,500 through Zomato alone fills pool A and wastes B and C entirely — 500 points instead of 1,250. Spreading the same money across all three merchant groups earns two and a half times as much.

At ₹0.58 a point, 1,250 points a month is ₹725 — ₹8,700 a year against a ₹495 fee. At the ₹0.333 Amazon rate it is ₹4,995. Either way the card pays for itself several times over, provided you actually fill the pools.

What earns nothing

The exclusion list is wide and applies across almost the whole range:

  • Fuel — Amex withdrew fuel earning entirely on 12 June 2025, and separately levies a 1% convenience fee on fuel transactions above ₹5,000. Fuel on an Amex costs money and returns nothing.
  • Insurance
  • Utilities (the Gold Charge Card is the sole exception)
  • Cash transactions
  • EMI conversion at point of sale, and since 1 February 2020, any EMI option selected on a merchant's website

The EMI exclusion deserves particular attention on this card. Since 1 February 2020, Amex has awarded no points on any EMI option selected on a merchant's website. On a card built around Amazon and Flipkart — where EMI checkout is prominent and often the default for larger purchases — that will catch people.

The part this review cannot price

Membership Rewards' reputation rests on transfers to airline and hotel programmes, not on vouchers. Amex names transfers as a redemption route and explains how to register a frequent flyer number to use them — but keeps the partner list and the transfer ratios behind account login, and publishes neither on its public India pages.

That means the figures here are computed from the voucher table and should be read as a floor on what the points can be worth, not a ceiling. A cardholder who transfers strategically may do considerably better. One who takes an Amazon voucher will do worse.

Fees and charges

American Express publishes these in two documents — a Key Fact Statement covering its credit cards and a separate MITC covering the Platinum and Gold charge cards.

**Foreign currency****3.50%** currency conversion factor
Cash advance3.5% of the amount, minimum ₹250
Duplicate statement₹100, for statements over 3 months old
Cheque / ECS / NACH return₹250 per instrument
Record of Charge retrieval₹100
Railway booking (IRCTC)1.8%, minimum ₹10

The fuel convenience fee depends on whose forecourt you are on: nothing at HPCL below ₹5,000, 1% at HPCL above it, 1% at BPCL and IOCL, and 2.5% everywhere else — Shell, Adani, Essar and the rest. Remember fuel has earned no points since 12 June 2025, so at a private pump you pay 2.5% and earn nothing.

An unused card is closed after twelve months, after an intimation and 30 days to consent. A card not activated within 37 days of approval is cancelled outright.

Fraud liability is nil if reported within 3 working days, and capped at ₹1,000 beyond that. American Express also waives outstanding balances up to ₹50,000 on the death of the basic cardmember — a provision few issuers publish at all.

Interest, and the penalty rate

3.5% a month — 42% a year — on purchases, cash advances and balance transfers, accruing daily from the transaction date.

The interest-free period is up to 48 days, but the due date moves. American Express varies it between 18 and 23 days from statement generation according to your previous month's payment behaviour, so the window is not a fixed length.

Miss the minimum payment repeatedly and the rate rises to 3.99% a month (47.88% a year) — after three misses in 12 months on Platinum Reserve and Platinum Travel, but only two on the Membership Rewards Credit Card and SmartEarn. The penalty rate then holds for 12 months, and reverts only after 11 on-time minimums in the following year.

The default charge is 30% of the Minimum Amount Due, floored at ₹500 and capped at ₹1,000 — a percentage of the minimum, not of the balance, which is an unusual base.

Minimum amount due is 5% of principal (or ₹100, whichever is greater) plus all fees, charges, taxes, interest and any instalment due.

Cash withdrawals are limited to ₹25,000 every 14 days or 20% of the credit limit, whichever is lower, with interest from the very next day.

Category Restrictions: Where You Won't Earn

  • Where you earn nothing: Earns nothing at all: Fuel, insurance, cash transactions and EMI conversion at point of sale earn NO Membership Rewards points. Amex withdrew fuel earning across the range effective 12 June 2025. Utilities are excluded too on every card here except the Gold Charge Card, which earns on them subject to its own cap.
  • Point expiry: Amex India does not state a Membership Rewards expiry period in the uploaded sources. Points are generally understood to remain valid while the Card Account is open and in good standing, but that is NOT PUBLISHED here and should not be relied on. Redeemed points and vouchers are explicitly non-exchangeable, non-refundable and non-reversible.
  • Tenx cap: TWO SEPARATE 500-POINT POOLS, not one. Amex caps the 10X earning at 500 points a month jointly for EaseMyTrip and Zomato, and at a further 500 points a month jointly for Flipkart, Uber, BookMyShow and other participating merchants. Each pool binds at ₹2,500 of spend. cap_inr records one pool; the second is identical.
  • Amazon cap: 250 Membership Rewards Points a month for Amazon, binding at ₹2,500 of spend.

Fees and Charges

ChargeAmount
Joining fee₹495 + GST
Renewal fee₹495 + GST
Finance charges3.5% per month (42% per annum) on goods and services, cash advances and balance transfers. Interest accrues daily from the transaction date until fully repaid, except where the interest-free period applies; the daily rate is (monthly rate × 12) ÷ 365.
Interest-free periodUp to 48 days. Interest is not payable on charges other than cash advances and balance transfers only where the previous statement's full closing balance was paid by the due date, the current statement's full closing balance is paid by the due date, and no cash advance or balance transfer has been taken.

THE PAYMENT DUE DATE IS DYNAMIC — American Express varies it between 18 and 23 days from statement generation according to the cardmember's previous month's payment behaviour, so the interest-free window is not a fixed length. | | Minimum amount due | 5% of the principal amount or ₹100, whichever is greater, PLUS the total of any card fees, charges, taxes and interest, PLUS any instalment due under an extended or deferred payment plan. | | Cash advance fee | 3.5% of the cash advance amount, subject to a minimum of ₹250, levied every time cash is withdrawn. | | Cash advance interest | Charged from the day after the withdrawal, with no interest-free period, at the card's prevailing monthly rate. | | Forex markup | 3.50% currency conversion factor assessment. Charges in a currency other than rupees are converted by American Express's overseas treasury system at an interbank rate selected from customary industry sources on the business day before processing, increased by the 3.5% markup. Non-US-dollar charges are converted through US dollars first. Charges made in Nepal and Bhutan are billed in rupees and carry no conversion factor. | | Late payment | 30% of the Minimum Amount Due, subject to a minimum of ₹500 and a maximum of ₹1,000, plus applicable taxes. This is a PERCENTAGE OF THE MINIMUM DUE rather than of the statement balance, which is an unusual base — most issuers in this dataset charge on the total outstanding. | | Payment return | ₹250 per returned instrument, on cheque, ECS or NACH. | | Fuel transactions | Charged as a convenience fee and varying by oil company: 0% on HPCL transactions below ₹5,000; 1% on HPCL transactions of ₹5,000 or more; 1% of the transaction value, minimum ₹10 plus taxes, at BPCL and IOCL; and 2.5%, minimum ₹10 plus taxes, at every other fuel company — Shell, Adani, Essar and the rest. Note separately that fuel has earned NO Membership Rewards points since 12 June 2025. | | Add-on card | ₹250 per supplementary card, with only 1 complimentary — the least generous supplementary allowance in Amex's India range. | | Reward redemption | No per-redemption fee is published in the uploaded sources. Redeemed Membership Rewards points and vouchers are explicitly non-exchangeable, non-refundable and non-reversible. | | GST | 18% on all fees, interest and service charges. All figures quoted are exclusive of it. |

Is the American Express SmartEarn Credit Card Worth It?

At ₹495 with a ₹40,000 spend waiver, this is the most efficient card in Amex's India range for anyone whose spending fits the merchant list.

Deliberately spread spending across all three pools. ₹2,500 each at a pool-A merchant, a pool-B merchant and Amazon, every month.

Do not use EMI at checkout if you want the points.

The ceiling is low in absolute terms. 1,250 points a month is the maximum the accelerated structure can produce, no matter how much you spend. SmartEarn is a card to use for ₹7,500 a month and pair with something else for the rest.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

What is the cap on Amex SmartEarn 10X rewards? There are three separate monthly pools: 500 points jointly for EaseMyTrip and Zomato, 500 jointly for Flipkart, Uber, BookMyShow and other partners, and 250 for Amazon. Each binds at ₹2,500 of spend, so the structure tops out at 1,250 points for ₹7,500 of monthly spending.

Does Amex SmartEarn earn points on EMI purchases? No. Since 1 February 2020 Amex has awarded no Membership Rewards points on any EMI option selected on a merchant's website or at point of sale — which matters on a card built around Amazon and Flipkart.

What is an Amex Membership Rewards point worth in India? It depends entirely on the redemption. Amex publishes no headline rate. Its Gold Collection shows 24,000 points buying a ₹14,000 Taj voucher (₹0.583 a point) or an ₹8,000 Amazon or Flipkart voucher (₹0.333). Transfers to airline partners can be worth more, but Amex India does not publish those ratios publicly.

Do Amex cards earn rewards on fuel in India? No. American Express withdrew Membership Rewards earning on fuel across its India range effective 12 June 2025, and charges a 1% convenience fee on fuel transactions above ₹5,000.

Do Amex points expire? American Express India does not state an expiry period in the material reviewed here. Points are generally understood to remain valid while the account is open and in good standing, but that is not published and should not be relied on.

Cards Mentioned in This Article

American Express SmartEarn Credit Card

American Express

American Express SmartEarn Credit Card

1.16% base reward

₹495/yr