Amex Platinum Reserve Review 2026: ₹12,000 of Vouchers for a ₹10,000 Fee — Every Month, Though
Amex Platinum Reserve costs ₹10,000 and returns ₹12,000 of vouchers — but only if you spend ₹50,000 in every single month. Golf, lounges and three memberships. Full review and FAQs.
The American Express Platinum Reserve Credit Card costs ₹10,000 and offers a benefit worth ₹12,000 — more than the fee.
The condition attached to it is the most important thing on the card, and it is easy to read past.
American Express Platinum Reserve Credit Card Quick Overview
| **Card type** | Super-premium lifestyle card |
|---|---|
| **Best for** | Someone who will spend ₹50,000 in every month without fail |
| **Joining / renewal fee** | ₹10,000 + GST, same on renewal — renewal waived at ₹10 lakh of annual spend |
| **Network** | American Express |
| **Base reward rate** | **1.16%** |
| **Reward currency** | Membership Rewards Points, valued at ₹0.58 each |
| **Welcome benefit** | 11,000 bonus Membership Rewards Points, on payment of the annual fee and spending ₹30,000 within 90 days of cardmembership. |
| **Lounge access** | **Unlimited** complimentary domestic lounge access |
| **Forex markup** | 3.5% |
Reward Structure: How You Earn
What a Membership Rewards point is actually worth
American Express India publishes no per-point rate. Its Membership Rewards page names the redemption routes and gives no rupee figures at all.
The one place rupee values do appear is the Gold Collection, printed on the card pages themselves — and it shows the answer depends heavily on what you pick:
| 24,000 MR points buy | Worth | Per point |
|---|---|---|
| Taj voucher | ₹14,000 | **₹0.583** |
| Shoppers Stop voucher | ₹10,000 | ₹0.417 |
| Tata CLiQ or Tanishq voucher | ₹9,000 | ₹0.375 |
| Amazon, Flipkart or Reliance Digital | ₹8,000 | ₹0.333 |
Every percentage in this review uses ₹0.58, the published maximum. Be aware that the commonest choices — Amazon and Flipkart — pay 43% less, which turns a 1.16% card into a 0.67% one.
1 Membership Rewards Point for every ₹50 spent — 1.16% at the maximum.
| Spend | Effective rate |
|---|---|
| Everything else | 1.16% |
| Fuel, rent, wallet loads, government, gaming | **0%** |
'Every month' means every month
Amex's wording is precise: movie or online shopping vouchers worth ₹12,000 a year, 'on spending Rs. 50,000 every month'.
This is not an annual target of ₹6 lakh. It is twelve separate monthly tests. ₹6 lakh spread evenly across the year earns the full ₹12,000; the same ₹6 lakh concentrated into six heavy months does not. A single quiet month breaks the run.
Since the benefit exceeds the fee, the whole economics of the card turn on this one condition.
Golf shares the same trigger
Two complimentary rounds a month at 32+ courses across India, with no green fee — also on ₹50,000 of spend in the month. The same spending unlocks both benefits, which makes the ₹50,000 monthly target considerably more worthwhile than it first appears.
Three memberships, unpriced
ALL Accor+ Explorer, Taj Epicure and EazyDiner Prime come complimentary with the card. Amex does not quantify their rupee value in the material reviewed here, so this review records only the ₹12,000 voucher benefit, which is quantified. The true annual value is higher by an unpublished amount.
Lounge access covers international and domestic airports across India, plus complimentary Priority Pass membership with the US$99 annual fee waived.
What earns nothing
The exclusion list is wide and applies across almost the whole range:
- Fuel — Amex withdrew fuel earning entirely on 12 June 2025, and separately levies a 1% convenience fee on fuel transactions above ₹5,000. Fuel on an Amex costs money and returns nothing.
- Insurance
- Utilities (the Gold Charge Card is the sole exception)
- Cash transactions
- EMI conversion at point of sale, and since 1 February 2020, any EMI option selected on a merchant's website
The part this review cannot price
Membership Rewards' reputation rests on transfers to airline and hotel programmes, not on vouchers. Amex names transfers as a redemption route and explains how to register a frequent flyer number to use them — but keeps the partner list and the transfer ratios behind account login, and publishes neither on its public India pages.
That means the figures here are computed from the voucher table and should be read as a floor on what the points can be worth, not a ceiling. A cardholder who transfers strategically may do considerably better. One who takes an Amazon voucher will do worse.
Fees and charges
American Express publishes these in two documents — a Key Fact Statement covering its credit cards and a separate MITC covering the Platinum and Gold charge cards.
| **Foreign currency** | **3.50%** currency conversion factor |
|---|---|
| Cash advance | 3.5% of the amount, minimum ₹250 |
| Duplicate statement | ₹100, for statements over 3 months old |
| Cheque / ECS / NACH return | ₹250 per instrument |
| Record of Charge retrieval | ₹100 |
| Railway booking (IRCTC) | 1.8%, minimum ₹10 |
The fuel convenience fee depends on whose forecourt you are on: nothing at HPCL below ₹5,000, 1% at HPCL above it, 1% at BPCL and IOCL, and 2.5% everywhere else — Shell, Adani, Essar and the rest. Remember fuel has earned no points since 12 June 2025, so at a private pump you pay 2.5% and earn nothing.
An unused card is closed after twelve months, after an intimation and 30 days to consent. A card not activated within 37 days of approval is cancelled outright.
Fraud liability is nil if reported within 3 working days, and capped at ₹1,000 beyond that. American Express also waives outstanding balances up to ₹50,000 on the death of the basic cardmember — a provision few issuers publish at all.
Interest, and the penalty rate
3.5% a month — 42% a year — on purchases, cash advances and balance transfers, accruing daily from the transaction date.
The interest-free period is up to 48 days, but the due date moves. American Express varies it between 18 and 23 days from statement generation according to your previous month's payment behaviour, so the window is not a fixed length.
Miss the minimum payment repeatedly and the rate rises to 3.99% a month (47.88% a year) — after three misses in 12 months on Platinum Reserve and Platinum Travel, but only two on the Membership Rewards Credit Card and SmartEarn. The penalty rate then holds for 12 months, and reverts only after 11 on-time minimums in the following year.
The default charge is 30% of the Minimum Amount Due, floored at ₹500 and capped at ₹1,000 — a percentage of the minimum, not of the balance, which is an unusual base.
Minimum amount due is 5% of principal (or ₹100, whichever is greater) plus all fees, charges, taxes, interest and any instalment due.
Cash withdrawals are limited to ₹25,000 every 14 days or 20% of the credit limit, whichever is lower, with interest from the very next day.
Milestone Benefits
| Spend | Benefit | Value |
|---|---|---|
| ₹50,000 a month | Movie or online shopping vouchers worth ₹12,000 a year, earned by spending ₹50,000 every month. | ₹12,000 |
Category Restrictions: Where You Won't Earn
- Where you earn nothing: Earns nothing at all: Fuel, insurance, cash transactions and EMI conversion at point of sale earn NO Membership Rewards points. Amex withdrew fuel earning across the range effective 12 June 2025. Utilities are excluded too on every card here except the Gold Charge Card, which earns on them subject to its own cap.
- Point expiry: Amex India does not state a Membership Rewards expiry period in the uploaded sources. Points are generally understood to remain valid while the Card Account is open and in good standing, but that is NOT PUBLISHED here and should not be relied on. Redeemed points and vouchers are explicitly non-exchangeable, non-refundable and non-reversible.
Fees and Charges
| Charge | Amount |
|---|---|
| Joining fee | ₹10,000 + GST |
| Renewal fee | ₹10,000 + GST |
| Finance charges | 3.5% per month (42% per annum) on goods and services, cash advances and balance transfers. Interest accrues daily from the transaction date until fully repaid, except where the interest-free period applies; the daily rate is (monthly rate × 12) ÷ 365. |
| Interest-free period | Up to 48 days. Interest is not payable on charges other than cash advances and balance transfers only where the previous statement's full closing balance was paid by the due date, the current statement's full closing balance is paid by the due date, and no cash advance or balance transfer has been taken. |
THE PAYMENT DUE DATE IS DYNAMIC — American Express varies it between 18 and 23 days from statement generation according to the cardmember's previous month's payment behaviour, so the interest-free window is not a fixed length. | | Minimum amount due | 5% of the principal amount or ₹100, whichever is greater, PLUS the total of any card fees, charges, taxes and interest, PLUS any instalment due under an extended or deferred payment plan. | | Cash advance fee | 3.5% of the cash advance amount, subject to a minimum of ₹250, levied every time cash is withdrawn. | | Cash advance interest | Charged from the day after the withdrawal, with no interest-free period, at the card's prevailing monthly rate. | | Forex markup | 3.50% currency conversion factor assessment. Charges in a currency other than rupees are converted by American Express's overseas treasury system at an interbank rate selected from customary industry sources on the business day before processing, increased by the 3.5% markup. Non-US-dollar charges are converted through US dollars first. Charges made in Nepal and Bhutan are billed in rupees and carry no conversion factor. | | Late payment | 30% of the Minimum Amount Due, subject to a minimum of ₹500 and a maximum of ₹1,000, plus applicable taxes. This is a PERCENTAGE OF THE MINIMUM DUE rather than of the statement balance, which is an unusual base — most issuers in this dataset charge on the total outstanding. | | Payment return | ₹250 per returned instrument, on cheque, ECS or NACH. | | Fuel transactions | Charged as a convenience fee and varying by oil company: 0% on HPCL transactions below ₹5,000; 1% on HPCL transactions of ₹5,000 or more; 1% of the transaction value, minimum ₹10 plus taxes, at BPCL and IOCL; and 2.5%, minimum ₹10 plus taxes, at every other fuel company — Shell, Adani, Essar and the rest. Note separately that fuel has earned NO Membership Rewards points since 12 June 2025. | | Add-on card | ₹1,500 per supplementary card, with up to 4 complimentary. | | Reward redemption | No per-redemption fee is published in the uploaded sources. Redeemed Membership Rewards points and vouchers are explicitly non-exchangeable, non-refundable and non-reversible. | | GST | 18% on all fees, interest and service charges. All figures quoted are exclusive of it. |
Is the American Express Platinum Reserve Credit Card Worth It?
If you can guarantee ₹50,000 of spending every single month, this is one of the better-value premium cards in this dataset. ₹12,000 of vouchers, 24 rounds of golf a year, three memberships and lounge access, for ₹10,000.
If your spending is uneven, the headline benefit is fragile. Model your worst month, not your average one.
The fee waiver threshold is ₹10,00,000 — one hundred times the fee, and among the highest ratios in this dataset. Anyone clearing it is spending ₹83,000 a month, comfortably past the ₹50,000 the voucher benefit needs.
The welcome gift is 11,000 points on ₹30,000 of spend within 90 days — ₹6,380 at the published maximum, which covers most of the first year's fee.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
How do I get the ₹12,000 voucher benefit on Amex Platinum Reserve? By spending ₹50,000 in every month, not ₹6 lakh across the year. Amex's condition is 'on spending Rs. 50,000 every month', which makes it twelve separate monthly tests — a single month below the threshold breaks the run.
Does the Amex Platinum Reserve include golf? Yes — two complimentary rounds a month at 32+ courses across India with no green fee, on spending ₹50,000 in the month. It shares the same monthly trigger as the voucher benefit.
What is an Amex Membership Rewards point worth in India? It depends entirely on the redemption. Amex publishes no headline rate. Its Gold Collection shows 24,000 points buying a ₹14,000 Taj voucher (₹0.583 a point) or an ₹8,000 Amazon or Flipkart voucher (₹0.333). Transfers to airline partners can be worth more, but Amex India does not publish those ratios publicly.
Do Amex cards earn rewards on fuel in India? No. American Express withdrew Membership Rewards earning on fuel across its India range effective 12 June 2025, and charges a 1% convenience fee on fuel transactions above ₹5,000.
Do Amex points expire? American Express India does not state an expiry period in the material reviewed here. Points are generally understood to remain valid while the account is open and in good standing, but that is not published and should not be relied on.

