Amex Membership Rewards Credit Card Review 2026: The Two Bonuses Matter More Than the Rate
The Amex MRCC costs ₹1,000 in year one and ₹4,500 after. Its base rate is 1.16%, but two monthly bonuses worth 2,000 points are where the value sits — and one needs separate enrolment. Full review.
The American Express Membership Rewards Credit Card costs ₹1,000 in the first year and ₹4,500 from the second — a 4.5× step-up the headline price does not convey.
Its base rate is 1 point per ₹50, which is 1.16% at Amex's published maximum. But the base rate is not really the point of this card.
American Express Membership Rewards Credit Card Quick Overview
| **Card type** | Mid-tier rewards card |
|---|---|
| **Best for** | Someone who will structure spending to hit both monthly bonuses |
| **Joining / renewal fee** | ₹1,000 + GST joining, ₹4,500 + GST renewal — renewal waived at ₹1.5 lakh of annual spend |
| **Network** | American Express |
| **Base reward rate** | **1.16%** |
| **Reward currency** | Membership Rewards Points, valued at ₹0.58 each |
| **Welcome benefit** | 4,000 bonus Membership Rewards Points on payment of the joining fee and spending ₹15,000 within 90 days of cardmembership. |
| **Lounge access** | None published |
| **Forex markup** | 3.5% |
Reward Structure: How You Earn
What a Membership Rewards point is actually worth
American Express India publishes no per-point rate. Its Membership Rewards page names the redemption routes and gives no rupee figures at all.
The one place rupee values do appear is the Gold Collection, printed on the card pages themselves — and it shows the answer depends heavily on what you pick:
| 24,000 MR points buy | Worth | Per point |
|---|---|---|
| Taj voucher | ₹14,000 | **₹0.583** |
| Shoppers Stop voucher | ₹10,000 | ₹0.417 |
| Tata CLiQ or Tanishq voucher | ₹9,000 | ₹0.375 |
| Amazon, Flipkart or Reliance Digital | ₹8,000 | ₹0.333 |
Every percentage in this review uses ₹0.58, the published maximum. Be aware that the commonest choices — Amazon and Flipkart — pay 43% less, which turns a 1.16% card into a 0.67% one.
1 Membership Rewards Point for every ₹50 spent — 1.16% at the ₹0.58 Gold Collection maximum, or 0.67% at the ₹0.333 Amazon rate.
| Spend | Effective rate |
|---|---|
| Everything else | 1.16% |
| Fuel, rent, wallet loads, government, gaming | **0%** |
The caps that actually bind
Headline rates mean little until you know where they stop. These are the limits on this card:
| Cap | Limit |
|---|---|
| Txn Bonus | 1,000 points per calendar month |
The two bonuses are worth more than the base rate
| Bonus | Condition | Points | Worth (at ₹0.58) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Transaction bonus | 4 transactions of ₹1,500+ in a calendar month | 1,000 | ₹580 |
| Monthly spend milestone | ₹20,000 in a calendar month — **enrolment required** | 1,000 | ₹580 |
Hit both and that is 2,000 points a month — ₹1,160 — against a ₹4,500 renewal fee. The transaction bonus alone needs only ₹6,000 of qualifying spend and pays ₹580, which is roughly eight times what the 1.16% base rate would pay on the same amount.
The ₹20,000 milestone requires separate enrolment at amex.co/mrccenroll. Spend ₹20,000 without enrolling and you earn nothing from it. The transaction bonus does not need enrolment. A benefit you must opt into is one most holders will miss.
What earns nothing
The exclusion list is wide and applies across almost the whole range:
- Fuel — Amex withdrew fuel earning entirely on 12 June 2025, and separately levies a 1% convenience fee on fuel transactions above ₹5,000. Fuel on an Amex costs money and returns nothing.
- Insurance
- Utilities (the Gold Charge Card is the sole exception)
- Cash transactions
- EMI conversion at point of sale, and since 1 February 2020, any EMI option selected on a merchant's website
The part this review cannot price
Membership Rewards' reputation rests on transfers to airline and hotel programmes, not on vouchers. Amex names transfers as a redemption route and explains how to register a frequent flyer number to use them — but keeps the partner list and the transfer ratios behind account login, and publishes neither on its public India pages.
That means the figures here are computed from the voucher table and should be read as a floor on what the points can be worth, not a ceiling. A cardholder who transfers strategically may do considerably better. One who takes an Amazon voucher will do worse.
Fees and charges
American Express publishes these in two documents — a Key Fact Statement covering its credit cards and a separate MITC covering the Platinum and Gold charge cards.
| **Foreign currency** | **3.50%** currency conversion factor |
|---|---|
| Cash advance | 3.5% of the amount, minimum ₹250 |
| Duplicate statement | ₹100, for statements over 3 months old |
| Cheque / ECS / NACH return | ₹250 per instrument |
| Record of Charge retrieval | ₹100 |
| Railway booking (IRCTC) | 1.8%, minimum ₹10 |
The fuel convenience fee depends on whose forecourt you are on: nothing at HPCL below ₹5,000, 1% at HPCL above it, 1% at BPCL and IOCL, and 2.5% everywhere else — Shell, Adani, Essar and the rest. Remember fuel has earned no points since 12 June 2025, so at a private pump you pay 2.5% and earn nothing.
An unused card is closed after twelve months, after an intimation and 30 days to consent. A card not activated within 37 days of approval is cancelled outright.
Fraud liability is nil if reported within 3 working days, and capped at ₹1,000 beyond that. American Express also waives outstanding balances up to ₹50,000 on the death of the basic cardmember — a provision few issuers publish at all.
Interest, and the penalty rate
3.5% a month — 42% a year — on purchases, cash advances and balance transfers, accruing daily from the transaction date.
The interest-free period is up to 48 days, but the due date moves. American Express varies it between 18 and 23 days from statement generation according to your previous month's payment behaviour, so the window is not a fixed length.
Miss the minimum payment repeatedly and the rate rises to 3.99% a month (47.88% a year) — after three misses in 12 months on Platinum Reserve and Platinum Travel, but only two on the Membership Rewards Credit Card and SmartEarn. The penalty rate then holds for 12 months, and reverts only after 11 on-time minimums in the following year.
The default charge is 30% of the Minimum Amount Due, floored at ₹500 and capped at ₹1,000 — a percentage of the minimum, not of the balance, which is an unusual base.
Minimum amount due is 5% of principal (or ₹100, whichever is greater) plus all fees, charges, taxes, interest and any instalment due.
Cash withdrawals are limited to ₹25,000 every 14 days or 20% of the credit limit, whichever is lower, with interest from the very next day.
Worked example
Spend ₹20,000 a month, structured as at least four transactions of ₹1,500 or more. Base earning is 400 points; the transaction bonus adds 1,000 and the enrolled milestone another 1,000 — 2,400 points a month, 28,800 a year. At the ₹0.58 Gold Collection maximum that is ₹16,704; at the ₹0.333 Amazon rate, ₹9,590. Either comfortably clears the ₹4,500 renewal fee, which ₹2,40,000 of annual spend waives entirely anyway.
Milestone Benefits
| Spend | Benefit | Value |
|---|---|---|
| ₹20,000 a month | 1,000 additional Membership Rewards Points for spending ₹20,000 or more in a calendar month. ENROLMENT REQUIRED. | ₹580 |
Category Restrictions: Where You Won't Earn
- Where you earn nothing: Earns nothing at all: Fuel, insurance, cash transactions and EMI conversion at point of sale earn NO Membership Rewards points. Amex withdrew fuel earning across the range effective 12 June 2025. Utilities are excluded too on every card here except the Gold Charge Card, which earns on them subject to its own cap.
- Point expiry: Amex India does not state a Membership Rewards expiry period in the uploaded sources. Points are generally understood to remain valid while the Card Account is open and in good standing, but that is NOT PUBLISHED here and should not be relied on. Redeemed points and vouchers are explicitly non-exchangeable, non-refundable and non-reversible.
- Txn Bonus cap: 1,000 Membership Rewards Points a calendar month, earned by making 4 transactions of ₹1,500 or more. At ₹6,000 of qualifying spend this bonus alone is worth ₹580 at the Gold Collection maximum — more than five times the 1.16% base rate would pay on the same amount. It is the most valuable feature on the card.
Fees and Charges
| Charge | Amount |
|---|---|
| Joining fee | ₹1,000 + GST |
| Renewal fee | ₹4,500 + GST |
| Finance charges | 3.5% per month (42% per annum) on goods and services, cash advances and balance transfers. Interest accrues daily from the transaction date until fully repaid, except where the interest-free period applies; the daily rate is (monthly rate × 12) ÷ 365. |
| Interest-free period | Up to 48 days. Interest is not payable on charges other than cash advances and balance transfers only where the previous statement's full closing balance was paid by the due date, the current statement's full closing balance is paid by the due date, and no cash advance or balance transfer has been taken. |
THE PAYMENT DUE DATE IS DYNAMIC — American Express varies it between 18 and 23 days from statement generation according to the cardmember's previous month's payment behaviour, so the interest-free window is not a fixed length. | | Minimum amount due | 5% of the principal amount or ₹100, whichever is greater, PLUS the total of any card fees, charges, taxes and interest, PLUS any instalment due under an extended or deferred payment plan. | | Cash advance fee | 3.5% of the cash advance amount, subject to a minimum of ₹250, levied every time cash is withdrawn. | | Cash advance interest | Charged from the day after the withdrawal, with no interest-free period, at the card's prevailing monthly rate. | | Forex markup | 3.50% currency conversion factor assessment. Charges in a currency other than rupees are converted by American Express's overseas treasury system at an interbank rate selected from customary industry sources on the business day before processing, increased by the 3.5% markup. Non-US-dollar charges are converted through US dollars first. Charges made in Nepal and Bhutan are billed in rupees and carry no conversion factor. | | Late payment | 30% of the Minimum Amount Due, subject to a minimum of ₹500 and a maximum of ₹1,000, plus applicable taxes. This is a PERCENTAGE OF THE MINIMUM DUE rather than of the statement balance, which is an unusual base — most issuers in this dataset charge on the total outstanding. | | Payment return | ₹250 per returned instrument, on cheque, ECS or NACH. | | Fuel transactions | Charged as a convenience fee and varying by oil company: 0% on HPCL transactions below ₹5,000; 1% on HPCL transactions of ₹5,000 or more; 1% of the transaction value, minimum ₹10 plus taxes, at BPCL and IOCL; and 2.5%, minimum ₹10 plus taxes, at every other fuel company — Shell, Adani, Essar and the rest. Note separately that fuel has earned NO Membership Rewards points since 12 June 2025. | | Add-on card | ₹1,500 per supplementary card, with up to 2 complimentary. | | Reward redemption | No per-redemption fee is published in the uploaded sources. Redeemed Membership Rewards points and vouchers are explicitly non-exchangeable, non-refundable and non-reversible. | | GST | 18% on all fees, interest and service charges. All figures quoted are exclusive of it. |
Is the American Express Membership Rewards Credit Card Worth It?
Structure your spending or this card underperforms. Four transactions of ₹1,500 or more, and ₹20,000 total, in each calendar month. Someone who does that collects ₹13,920 of points a year at the published maximum; someone who spends the same amount in one large transaction collects a fraction of it.
Enrol for the ₹20,000 milestone on day one.
The fee waiver has two tiers. ₹1,50,000 of spend in the preceding membership year waives the full ₹4,500; ₹90,000 to ₹1,49,999 waives half. Both are reachable for someone already hitting ₹20,000 a month.
Renewal pays 5,000 points on payment of the annual fee — ₹2,900 at the maximum, credited within 90 days.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
What is the annual fee on the Amex Membership Rewards Credit Card? ₹1,000 plus taxes in the first year, then ₹4,500 plus taxes from the second year onwards. The renewal fee is fully waived on ₹1,50,000 of spend in the preceding membership year, and half waived on ₹90,000 to ₹1,49,999.
Do I need to enrol for the Amex MRCC monthly milestone? Yes — the 1,000-point bonus for spending ₹20,000 in a calendar month is enrolment-based, at amex.co/mrccenroll. The separate 1,000-point bonus for 4 transactions of ₹1,500 or more does not require enrolment.
What is an Amex Membership Rewards point worth in India? It depends entirely on the redemption. Amex publishes no headline rate. Its Gold Collection shows 24,000 points buying a ₹14,000 Taj voucher (₹0.583 a point) or an ₹8,000 Amazon or Flipkart voucher (₹0.333). Transfers to airline partners can be worth more, but Amex India does not publish those ratios publicly.
Do Amex cards earn rewards on fuel in India? No. American Express withdrew Membership Rewards earning on fuel across its India range effective 12 June 2025, and charges a 1% convenience fee on fuel transactions above ₹5,000.
Do Amex points expire? American Express India does not state an expiry period in the material reviewed here. Points are generally understood to remain valid while the account is open and in good standing, but that is not published and should not be relied on.

