CardJaankari
American Express

Amex Gold Charge Card Review 2026: The Only Amex in India Where Utilities Earn

The Amex Gold Charge Card costs ₹1,000 then ₹4,500. It is the only card in Amex's India range that earns on utility bills — capped at 10,000 points a month. What that is worth, plus FAQs.

P
Priya MenonSenior Credit Card Analyst
26 September 202610 min read

The American Express Gold Card is a charge card, not a credit card, costing ₹1,000 in year one and ₹4,500 after.

It earns 1 point per ₹50 like most of the range. The thing that distinguishes it is narrow and genuinely valuable: it is the only Amex card in India on which utility bills earn.

American Express Gold Card Quick Overview

**Card type**Premium charge card
**Best for**A household routing electricity, water and gas bills through a card
**Joining / renewal fee**₹1,000 + GST joining, ₹4,500 + GST renewal
**Network**American Express
**Base reward rate****1.16%**
**Top reward rate****1.16%** — utility
**Reward currency**Membership Rewards Points, valued at ₹0.58 each
**Welcome benefit**4,000 bonus Membership Rewards Points on payment of the annual fee and spending ₹10,000 within 90 days of cardmembership.
**Lounge access**None published
**Forex markup**3.5%

Reward Structure: How You Earn

What a Membership Rewards point is actually worth

American Express India publishes no per-point rate. Its Membership Rewards page names the redemption routes and gives no rupee figures at all.

The one place rupee values do appear is the Gold Collection, printed on the card pages themselves — and it shows the answer depends heavily on what you pick:

24,000 MR points buyWorthPer point
Taj voucher₹14,000**₹0.583**
Shoppers Stop voucher₹10,000₹0.417
Tata CLiQ or Tanishq voucher₹9,000₹0.375
Amazon, Flipkart or Reliance Digital₹8,000₹0.333

Every percentage in this review uses ₹0.58, the published maximum. Be aware that the commonest choices — Amazon and Flipkart — pay 43% less, which turns a 1.16% card into a 0.67% one.

1 Membership Rewards Point for every ₹50 spent — 1.16% at the maximum.

Utilities earn at the same rate, capped at 10,000 points a calendar month.

SpendEffective rate
utility (capped at 10,000 points a month)**1.16%**
Everything else1.16%
Fuel, rent, wallet loads, government, gaming**0%**

The caps that actually bind

Headline rates mean little until you know where they stop. These are the limits on this card:

CapLimit
Utility10,000 points per calendar month
Txn Bonus1,000 points per calendar month

Utilities: the one real differentiator

Every other card in this range — the Membership Rewards Credit Card, SmartEarn, Platinum Reserve, Platinum Travel — excludes utility spending from earning entirely. The Gold Charge Card earns the full base rate on electricity, water, gas and similar services.

The cap is 10,000 points a calendar month, which binds at ₹5,00,000 of utility spend — far beyond any household. In practice the cap is not the constraint; the fact that utilities earn at all is the benefit.

For a household paying ₹15,000 a month in utilities, that is 300 points a month, ₹2,088 a year at the published maximum — roughly half the renewal fee, from bills that earn nothing on every other Amex.

What a charge card means

Amex labels this a Charge Card with no pre-set spending limit. Two consequences:

There is no published credit limit. Charges are approved against income, spending pattern and payment history. Amex is explicit that 'no pre-set limit does not mean your spending is unlimited'.

A charge card is conventionally settled in full each period rather than revolved. No revolving interest rate is published in the material reviewed here, and one may not apply in the ordinary way.

The transaction bonus

1,000 bonus points for 6 transactions of ₹1,000 each in a month — ₹6,000 of qualifying spend for ₹580 of value. Note the shape differs from the Membership Rewards Credit Card, which asks for 4 transactions of ₹1,500. Same reward, more transactions, lower threshold each.

What earns nothing

The exclusion list is wide and applies across almost the whole range:

  • Fuel — Amex withdrew fuel earning entirely on 12 June 2025, and separately levies a 1% convenience fee on fuel transactions above ₹5,000. Fuel on an Amex costs money and returns nothing.
  • Insurance
  • Utilities (the Gold Charge Card is the sole exception)
  • Cash transactions
  • EMI conversion at point of sale, and since 1 February 2020, any EMI option selected on a merchant's website

Fuel and insurance are excluded here as everywhere. Utilities are not — that is the exception.

The part this review cannot price

Membership Rewards' reputation rests on transfers to airline and hotel programmes, not on vouchers. Amex names transfers as a redemption route and explains how to register a frequent flyer number to use them — but keeps the partner list and the transfer ratios behind account login, and publishes neither on its public India pages.

That means the figures here are computed from the voucher table and should be read as a floor on what the points can be worth, not a ceiling. A cardholder who transfers strategically may do considerably better. One who takes an Amazon voucher will do worse.

Fees and charges

American Express publishes these in two documents — a Key Fact Statement covering its credit cards and a separate MITC covering the Platinum and Gold charge cards.

**Foreign currency****3.50%** currency conversion factor
Cash advance3.5% of the amount, minimum ₹250
Duplicate statement₹100, for statements over 3 months old
Cheque / ECS / NACH return₹250 per instrument
Record of Charge retrieval₹100
Railway booking (IRCTC)1.8%, minimum ₹10

The fuel convenience fee depends on whose forecourt you are on: nothing at HPCL below ₹5,000, 1% at HPCL above it, 1% at BPCL and IOCL, and 2.5% everywhere else — Shell, Adani, Essar and the rest. Remember fuel has earned no points since 12 June 2025, so at a private pump you pay 2.5% and earn nothing.

An unused card is closed after twelve months, after an intimation and 30 days to consent. A card not activated within 37 days of approval is cancelled outright.

Fraud liability is nil if reported within 3 working days, and capped at ₹1,000 beyond that. American Express also waives outstanding balances up to ₹50,000 on the death of the basic cardmember — a provision few issuers publish at all.

No interest — but points you can lose

There are no finance charges on a charge card. American Express states it plainly: the balance cannot be revolved, so no interest rate exists. The interest-free period runs up to 48 days.

Instead there is a delinquency fee: 5% of the unpaid balance, minimum ₹300, levied each month until the balance is cleared. It is calculated on the statement outstanding less fees, taxes and any credits received by the due date, so a partial payment reduces it. The account is reported overdue to credit bureaus after five days.

And the reward rule that matters most: Membership Rewards points are forfeited for any billing cycle in which payment is not received in full by the due date. Not reduced — forfeited, for the whole month. On a card that must be settled in full anyway, one late payment costs the entire month's earning on top of the delinquency fee. It appears in no marketing material.

Cash withdrawal is suspended in India and available only at international locations — US$750 every 14 days on Platinum, US$129 on Gold.

Category Restrictions: Where You Won't Earn

  • Where you earn nothing: Earns nothing at all: Fuel, insurance, cash transactions and EMI conversion at point of sale earn NO Membership Rewards points. Amex withdrew fuel earning across the range effective 12 June 2025. Utilities are excluded too on every card here except the Gold Charge Card, which earns on them subject to its own cap.
  • Point expiry: Amex India does not state a Membership Rewards expiry period in the uploaded sources. Points are generally understood to remain valid while the Card Account is open and in good standing, but that is NOT PUBLISHED here and should not be relied on. Redeemed points and vouchers are explicitly non-exchangeable, non-refundable and non-reversible.
  • Utility cap: 10,000 Membership Rewards Points a calendar month on utility services — ₹5,800 of value at the Gold Collection maximum, binding at ₹5,00,000 of utility spend. Generous in absolute terms and unique in this range.
  • Txn Bonus cap: 1,000 Membership Rewards Points a month for 6 transactions of ₹1,000 each — ₹6,000 of qualifying spend for ₹580 of value at the Gold Collection maximum.

Fees and Charges

ChargeAmount
Joining fee₹1,000 + GST
Renewal fee₹4,500 + GST
Finance chargesNot applicable. American Express states plainly that on charge cards 'Cardmembers are not allowed to revolve the overdue balance by paying Finance Charges. Hence, there are no Finance Charges applicable.' interest_rate_pa is null because no rate exists, not because none was found.
Interest-free periodUp to 48 days. There are no interest charges on a charge card; the balance is settled in full each period.
Minimum amount dueNot applicable — the full amount shown on the statement is payable by the due date. American Express states the payment should not exceed the total amount due.
Cash advance fee3.5% of the cash advance amount, subject to a minimum of ₹250, levied every time cash is withdrawn.
Forex markup3.50% currency conversion factor assessment. Charges in a currency other than rupees are converted by American Express's overseas treasury system at an interbank rate selected from customary industry sources on the business day before processing, increased by the 3.5% markup. Non-US-dollar charges are converted through US dollars first. Charges made in Nepal and Bhutan are billed in rupees and carry no conversion factor.
Late payment5% of the unpaid balance, subject to a minimum of ₹300, levied in the next monthly statement and repeated until payment is received in full. Calculated as 5% × (last statement outstanding − fees and taxes − credits received by the due date), so a partial payment reduces the base. American Express reports a charge card account as overdue to credit information companies after five days.
Payment return₹250 per returned instrument, on cheque, ECS or NACH.
Fuel transactionsCharged as a convenience fee and varying by oil company: 0% on HPCL transactions below ₹5,000; 1% on HPCL transactions of ₹5,000 or more; 1% of the transaction value, minimum ₹10 plus taxes, at BPCL and IOCL; and 2.5%, minimum ₹10 plus taxes, at every other fuel company — Shell, Adani, Essar and the rest. Note separately that fuel has earned NO Membership Rewards points since 12 June 2025.
Add-on card₹1,500 per supplementary card, with up to 2 complimentary.
Reward redemptionNo per-redemption fee is published in the uploaded sources. Redeemed Membership Rewards points and vouchers are explicitly non-exchangeable, non-refundable and non-reversible.
GST18% on all fees, interest and service charges. All figures quoted are exclusive of it.

Is the American Express Gold Card Worth It?

Take this card for the utilities, or do not take it. At an identical fee, the Membership Rewards Credit Card offers two monthly bonuses and a published fee waiver; the Gold Charge Card offers utility earning and one bonus.

No fee waiver is published for this card. The Membership Rewards Credit Card at the same ₹4,500 renewal does publish one. The silence here may be an omission in the source rather than a real absence — worth confirming with Amex.

The welcome gift is 4,000 points on ₹10,000 of spend within 90 days — ₹2,320 at the maximum, which more than covers the ₹1,000 first-year fee.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Does the Amex Gold Card earn points on utility bills? Yes, and it is the only American Express card in India that does. Utilities earn at the full base rate of 1 point per ₹50, capped at 10,000 Membership Rewards points a calendar month. Every other Amex India card excludes utility spending entirely.

Is the Amex Gold Card a credit card or a charge card? A charge card, with no pre-set spending limit. Charges are approved against income, spending pattern and payment history rather than against a fixed limit, and the balance is conventionally settled in full each period.

What is an Amex Membership Rewards point worth in India? It depends entirely on the redemption. Amex publishes no headline rate. Its Gold Collection shows 24,000 points buying a ₹14,000 Taj voucher (₹0.583 a point) or an ₹8,000 Amazon or Flipkart voucher (₹0.333). Transfers to airline partners can be worth more, but Amex India does not publish those ratios publicly.

Do Amex cards earn rewards on fuel in India? No. American Express withdrew Membership Rewards earning on fuel across its India range effective 12 June 2025, and charges a 1% convenience fee on fuel transactions above ₹5,000.

Do Amex points expire? American Express India does not state an expiry period in the material reviewed here. Points are generally understood to remain valid while the account is open and in good standing, but that is not published and should not be relied on.

Cards Mentioned in This Article

American Express Gold Card

American Express

American Express Gold Card

1.16% base reward

₹4,500/yr